Aquascutum Spring/Summer 2016 Menswear
Set up by John Emary, Aquascutum began as a Mayfair tailors in 1851. From the beginning, fine craftsmanship and technical innovation have been at the forefront of the brand, and two years after opening, Emary created and patented the first waterproof textile. This unique development led to inspire the brand’s name, which translates as ‘water shield’, from Latin. The company’s growing success led to a relocation of the flagship store to 100 Regent Street in 1895.
Promoted by King Edward VII, his majesty became the first royal client, ordering a coat in the Prince of Wales Check. In 1897 a royal warrant was received, marking the beginning of a long patronage with the royal family. Soon after, in 1900, Aquascutum began designing outerwear for women. The functionality of the coats and capes became popular with the suffragettes.